river city speedway

Husband and wife duo Bob and Tiffany Berg each recorded fourth-place division finishes at River City Speedway. The duo celebrates here after Bob won the Tuner Division main event on May 11.

River City Speedway in St. Helens capped its 35th motorsports season with the 2019 Columbia County Racing Association (CCRA) Awards Banquet Oct. 26 at the Columbia City Community Hall.

Area stock car racing drivers who received their CCRA championship trophies included Terry King and Brock Ross. King, of Warren, and Ross, of St. Helens, were co-drivers of the Ross Diesel & Auto sponsored 1987 Buick Regal that they drove in winning the Street Stock Division title. King and Ross totaled 1,329 points in the division standings.

Scappoose drivers Gary Kordosky Jr. and Dennis Liebig also earned trophies. Liebig earned a second-place trophy for his runner-up point standings finish in the Dwarf Car Division. Liebig drove his TFT Construction sponsored open-wheel race car to a victory in the June 1 Dwarf Car main event, and he totaled 213 points in the series standings. Phillip Rowland, of Camas, Washington, won the Dwarf Car Division title with a first place total of 476 points.

Kordosky Jr. took home the Dwarf Car third-place trophy with a total of 174 points and a career best finish in the division standings. His dad, Gary Kordosky, of Scappoose, earned the Sportsman Division Hard Luck Award and he took third place in the division standings, which marked a career best finish in the series.

The duo of Warren co-drivers Matt Brown and Cody Scouller earned the Tuner Division fifth-place trophy.

St. Helens drivers who earned awards included the duo of Greg Brumbaugh and Joel Beeler, who earned the Street Stock Division second-place trophy with 1,299 points. The husband/wife duo of Bob and Tiffany Berg earned top-four awards. Bob earned the Tuner Division fourth place trophy and Tiffany took home the Four Cylinder Division fourth-place trophy. Bob also earned the Hard Luck Award.

Sharmaine Jobanek, of St. Helens, earned the Four Cylinder fifth-place trophy and Christopher Lee, of St. Helens, earned the eighth-place trophy. Jobanek won the Rookie of the Year Award and also the Most Improved Driver Award. Paige Gump, of St. Helens, earned the Tracer Division second-place trophy and the Hard Luck Award. Gump totaled 1,026 points in finishing runner-up to Tracer champ Zander Koch, of Vancouver, who totaled 1,241 points.

Chelsea McKinney, of Columbia City, earned the Street Stock Rookie of the Year Award and the Most Improved Driver Award, while she took fifth place in the division standings with 529 points. Stephen Kaptur, of St. Helens, won the Modified Division Sportsmanship Award and also the Hard Luck Award, while finishing second with 845 in the point standings to 2019 series champion Clyde White of Longview, who racked up 1,012 points.

Other drivers who took home their championship trophies included Woodland’s Devon Reed (Sportsman), West Linn’s TJ Landis (Tuner) and his brother Lance Landis (Four Cylinder), of West Linn.


Online Poll

Are you taking the current City of St. Helens survey?

You voted:

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

1. Be Civil. No bullying, name calling, or insults.
2. Keep it Clean and Be Nice. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
3. Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
4. Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
5. Be Proactive. Let us know of abusive posts. Multiple reports will take a comment offline.
6. Stay On Topic. Any comment that is not related to the original post will be deleted.
7. Abuse of these rules will result in the thread being disabled, comments denied, and/or user blocked.