Stock car racing heats up at 5 p.m. on Saturday, June 22, at the Columbia County Fairgrounds motorsports facility in St. Helens with the Pape Machinery/Rainier Truck and R.V. Center-sponsored Northwest Modified Series race.

The Modified Division main will include the largest first place prize of the year of $800 for the winner.

The Father’s Day weekend Fan Appreciation race certainly turned out to be a memorable day for division leaders and dads Clyde White and Devon Reed.Bboth captured Columbia County Racing Association (CCRA) main event wins last Saturday at River City Speedway.

White won the Modified Division main event and Reed, won the Sportsman Division main. St. Helens drivers Joel Beehler, Shawn Dorie and Victoria Woolf also recorded main event wins. Dorie won the Dwarf Car Division main. Beehler captured the Street Stock Division main and Woolf won the Pacific Mini Sprint Association (PMSA) Micro Open Division main event.

Vancouver racer, 10-year-old Zander Koch, continued to be a frontrunner in the Tracer Division (youth’s age 10-17) winning the

heat race and main event to remain undefeated through the first four rounds of CCRA motorsports. Macie Logsdon, of Mt. Vernon, WA, was a three-time winner notching wins in the PMSA Micro Restricted Division main event and heat race. Logsdon also won the PMSA Micro Open Division heat race.

Kelos driver Trenton Brogan was also a two-time winner capturing the Four Cylinder Division main event and heat race. Redmond’s Dustin Wilkinson captured the Tuner Division main event.

Defending Modified Division Champion Stephen Kaptur of St. Helens, led the first lap of the main event in the Malar Performance Engines/Discount Race Car Parts sponsored open-wheel modified race car. White passed Kaptur on lap two and led the remainder of the 20-lap race to take his third straight main event victory in his PNE Construction/Eric’s Frame Repair race car.

Reed took second place, followed by Sean Fox of Rainier, Kaptur and Vancouver’s Tanner Krohling. White leads the Modified Division point standings and he’s seeking to win his second CCRA title. He won the 2017 Sportsman Division championship.

Drivers’ comments

“It was good seeing Devon racing in the Modified Division at St. Helens for the first time and he did a good job,” White said. “I can’t get too excited about being undefeated, because that will come to an end at some point. I hope it doesn’t happen in the next race though, but you never know what can happen.”

White said the Saturday June 22 race will be tough because more cars are expected to compete in the Modified Divison.

Reed was competing at the speedway as a double duty driver while entering two CCRA motorsport classifications. Reed drove his Tom’s Performance Engines modified racer for the first time ever in the Modified Division and he had a successful debut as he recorded a fourth place heat race finish in addition to getting runnerup in the main event.

Reed also drove his Dancin’ Bare Tavern/Reed’s Automotive sponsored Chevrolet to victory in the seven-car Sportsman main, taking the lead on the fourth lap of the 25-lap race and then remained up front to get the victory. Bernie Lujan of St. Helens, took second, followed by Portland drivers Frank Elwess, David Weaver and JC Miller. Reed won the 2018 Sportsman Division title and he’s seeking to win a second straight championship.

“I had lots of fun and it was nice that we had more cars competing this week,” said Reed, whose son Martin, 14, competes in the Tracer Division in a 1989 Toyota Corolla. “Martin did OK. He’s improving and getting better. I’m hoping that I can win another Sportsman Division championship this year.”

Koch drove his Dodge Neon to a fourth consecutive victory in the 15-lap Tracer main and he also won the heat race. Paige Gump of St. Helens, was second, followed by Brayden Brookshire of Portland and Reed. Koch, a rookie, has won every heat and main this year. The only race he didn’t win was June 1, when he took second place in the trophy dash to Brookshire.

Brogan, 16, took the lead on the fourth lap of the 14-car Four Cylinder Division main and led the remainder of the 30-lap race to notch his second win of the year and fourth straight top-five finish in his Ram Light Truck Salvage/Economy Auto Wrecking sponsored 1996 Nissan Altima. Taylor Sayre took second, followed by Max Sanford, Sande Simmet, Jerry Rouleau, Jacob Shultz and Tiffany Berg. Brogan demonstrated a big improvement from the last race on June 1, when he finished fifth in the main event.

“I was using the brakes less often than what I did in the last race and that made a big difference,” said Brogan, who also won heat race 3. “It was definitely my most successful day of the season.”

Brogan, a first-year driver in the series, is seeking to win the Rookie-of-the-Year Award and also the Four Cylinder Division championship, which would give him a second straight CCRA title. Brogan, a Kelso High Sophomore, won the Tracer Division title last year and he’s leading the point standings after four of 15 events. If Brogan wins the title, he would be the youngest champion in the 20-year history of the Four Cylinder Division.

Berg (Heat 4), Simmet (Heat 1) and Sanford (Heat 2) each recorded heat race wins. Berg of St. Helens, drove her Eaton’s Tire & Service Center sponsored Dodge Neon to her first ever heat race victory. Berg’s husband Bob drives the Cozy Lawn Maintenance Neon in the Tuner Division and he took fifth place in Saturday’s main event. The Berg’s are the only husband/wife duo that compete in two CCRA motorsports classifications at the speedway.

Wilkinson, a former Portland Speedway Street Stock champion (2002), took the lead in the main on the second lap and led the remainder of the 30-lap race to get the victory in the Tri-Pod Development sponsored 2003 Ford Focus owned by TJ Landis of West Linn. Shelby Wegner of St. Helens, was runnerup, followed by Wendy Vough of Longview and Shultz of Sandy. Travis Koch and Dan McDonald won heat races.

Beehler, 26, drove the CLT Trucking/Hoyt Construction 1985 Chevrolet Malibu to victory in the 25-lap Street Stock main and heat race. Warren’s Terry King took second, followed by Tom Zywicki, Corey Joe LoCicero and Ryan Gillett. Beehler was a two-time winner as he also won heat 2. King, the Street Stock Division leader, won heat 1 with his Ross Diesel & Auto sponsored 1987 Buick Regal.

Dorie was also a two-time winner as he recorded victories in the Dwarf Car heat and main event. Dennis Liebig of Scappoose, who won the previous main event on June 1, was second, followed by Anthony Brinster, Gary Kordosky, Phil Rowland and Bill Poehler.


Online Poll

Are you ready for Spring and Summer?

You voted:

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

1. Be Civil. No bullying, name calling, or insults.
2. Keep it Clean and Be Nice. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
3. Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
4. Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
5. Be Proactive. Let us know of abusive posts. Multiple reports will take a comment offline.
6. Stay On Topic. Any comment that is not related to the original post will be deleted.
7. Abuse of these rules will result in the thread being disabled, comments denied, and/or user blocked.