Shawn Dorie

Shawn Dorie of St. Helens, car number 4, took second place.

Former Columbia County Racing Association (CCRA) division champions Clark Tenney, Clyde White and Shelby Wegner each captured main event wins July 7 at River City Speedway in St. Helens.

CCRA Tracer Division leader Trenton Brogan of Longview remained undefeated in the series for youth's age 13-16 as he won the main event. Longview's Josh Rodgers won the Dwarf Car Division main and Josh Warbis won the Four Cylinder Division main event.

White, the defending Sportsman Division champion, came from behind and took the lead on lap 13 after passing Woodland's Devon Reed, who led the first 12 laps of the 30-lap event. White captured his first main event win this year in his D & S Light Truck/Eric's Frame Repair sponsored 2016 Chevrolet Impala. Woodland's Devon Reed was runner-up, followed by Brad Beehler of St. Helens, Steffan Strawn and Trevor Lively. Reed won the trophy dash and Beehler and White won heat races.

"We started in the middle of the pack and I was able to move through traffic and eventually get up front and hold on to the lead to get the win," said White, 50, whose PNE Construction race team includes crewmembers Craig Olson and Kevin Walker.

"I had a really good race with Reed, who has really improved a lot this year. We were racing bumper-to-bumper and side-by-side for a number of laps, which was lots of fun. I had a good race with Reed and Beehler and the three of us had a pretty good battle. We had a really good night overall and it's nice to get the monkey off our back. We're hoping to come out here and get a few more wins this year."

Tenney won the Modified Division main with his 21st Century Towing/David's Automotive open-wheel style racer. For Tenney, a former series champ (2013), it marked his second win of the season, following his victory June 16. Tenney was a two-time winner as he also won the trophy dash.

Defending series champion Stephen Kaptur of St. Helens, took second, followed by Derek Campbell and Mark Hill. Kaptur won the heat race and leads the division standings at the midway point of the 14-race series. Kaptur, 42, is seeking to win a second straight series title with his Malar Performance Engines/Discount Race Car Parts open-wheel racer.

Wegner, 27, grabbed the lead on the final lap to win her first ever Tuner Division main event with her PSP Powder Coating/Economy Auto Parts 2001 Toyota Celica. Bob Berg of St. Helens, took the lead on lap three and was out in front for a majority of the 30-lap race in his Cozy Lawn Maintenance/Eaton's Tire & Service Center 1997 Dodge Neon.

Wegner, a former Four Cylinder Division champion (2015), started in the back of the seven-car main alongside Berg. Both drivers maneuvered up towards the front with Berg taking the lead on lap three. Berg, 54, led the next 26 laps on the quarter-mile clay oval in his Cozy Lawn Maintenance/Eaton's Tire & Service Center 1997 Dodge Neon. However, his Neon's handling was severely hampered when the power steering belt came off on lap 25, which made it very difficult for Berg to drive in the corners.

Wegner, 27, grabbed the lead on the final lap, passing Berg on the inside of turn three on lap 30 and pulled in front to get the victory in her PSP Powder Coating/Economy Auto Parts 2001 Toyota Celica. Vancouver's Sande Simmet was second, followed by Berg, Ryan Potter of Vernonia and Rudy Stellflug of St. Helens. Berg, the 2016 Four Cylinder champion, and Wegner each won heat races. Berg, the Tuner Division points leader, was a two-time winner as he also won the trophy dash.

Brogan, 14, won his fifth consecutive Tracer Division main in his Ram Light Truck Salvage 1996 Nissan Altima. Brogan led the 20-lap race from start-to-finish. Kelso's Wendy Vough was second and Paige Gump was third. Brogan won the trophy dash and Vough won the heat.

"Since it's my first time competing in this class, I feel a little surprised that I'm having so much success," Brogan said. "I would like to see a few more cars than just three. It was a lot more fun in the last race (June 30) when we had six cars and I passed everyone to get into first place. My goal this year is to win the championship and the Rookie-of-the-Year Award."

Rodgers won the Dwarf Car main with Shawn Dorie of St. Helens taking second, followed by Dennis Liebig of Scappoose, Scott Dorie of St. Helens and Gary Kordosky of St. Helens. Rodgers and Scott Dorie won heat races and Shawn Dorie captured the trophy dash.

Warbis captured the Four Cylinder Division main, with Jacob Shultz taking second, followed by Dan McDonald, Lynn Yeaman and Sean Elliot to round out the top-five.

Shultz won the trophy dash and McDonald and TJ Landis won heat races.

The eighth CCRA event at the Columbia County Fairgrounds facility is the July 28 Stock Car Showdown & Studebaker car show.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

1. Be Civil. No bullying, name calling, or insults.
2. Keep it Clean and Be Nice. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
3. Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
4. Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
5. Be Proactive. Let us know of abusive posts. Multiple reports will take a comment offline.
6. Stay On Topic. Any comment that is not related to the original post will be deleted.
7. Abuse of these rules will result in the thread being disabled, comments denied, and/or user blocked.